• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What happened to my little boy?

Jon_in_Brasil

Moving in
I lost my little boy a couple of days ago now. I'm distraught to be honest and although also making efforts to feel better (my wife and I watched some funny videos of him last night and we wrote a list of all the things we want to remember about him which we will read every now and again) I really need to know what happened. I posted elsewhere and didn't want to ask everywhere, but in searching for an answer, google kept leading me to you. I won't have him cut open or anything though. He's at rest now under a tree.

The events leading to his passing, as I understand them, are these:
He (he's a white-eyed Conure) was perfectly fine the day before he passed. I mean, I'm not an expert but I always check his poop and his behaviour and his temperature. He was playing, climbing on us, talking and eating all totally normally. He goes to bed at around 5.30pm and sleeps by around 6pm. He sleeps in an area with a roof but with an opening at it's edge that gives him sun and air. This time of year, I cover his little house (we don't call it a cage) as it's getting colder now (although bear in mind we live in Brasil and his kind were in our town before humans) and I uncover him either when I hear him the next morning or at around 9.30am. He's usually awake before that but I leave him just in case he needs the extra rest. At around 11pm I heard what sounded like the result of a night fright and went outside to comfort him. I actually ended up bringing him into a spare bedroom as he's been overly tired once before and was a danger to himself. I comforted him for around an hour and he seemed calm and rested enough to be returned. He called (not loudly) as I left, but that's normal. I had moved him further into the room so he would have no distractions the next morn