• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

What do you wish your hand-raised baby was exposed to?

Mads505

Sitting on the front steps
Hey guys! I'm getting 3 baby green cheek conures in a few days. I'll be keeping one and the other two will be finding other great homes.

I have lots of hand raising experience, so my question isn't about that.

For those of you who have purchased a hand-raised bird (or even have thoughts on how you could've done better), I'd love to hear your opinions.

Here's my list so far:
  • As many foods as possible
  • Raised with kids and in a home hearing dogs and cats (will NOT interact with predator species)
  • Will meet safe strangers
  • Will be exposed to harnesses and birdie backpacks (I do understand the safety issues some have had with them, but I like them for a lot of reasons)
  • Will be sexed, tested for PBFD, Polyoma, Chlamydia, and avian herpesvirus
  • Will be vaccinated for polyoma
  • Will be exposed to claws gently being filed
Can anyone think of anything else?

Pixiebeak

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Laura
Allow to fledge and learn to fly well . It affects the whole rest of their life if they are clipped before or just after and haven't learned to fly well.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
Yes, unclipped and ample time with other birds. Exposed to a variety of toy textures and colors.

Shannan

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shannan