• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Untrained untamed aggressive cockatiel

Sunnybirb

Moving in
Real Name
Liz
Hi guys I'm looking for some serious help. I bought a cockatiel from this horrible petstore (will never go again) and he is 7 months old. He is not tamed or trained in anyway and I have no idea how to go about doing so. I have zero experience taming any bird and I'm looking for step by step instructions on what to do to tame him. Many people say to use treats however he will not accept any treats no matter what they are. He won't eat veggies either. He hisses constantly and bites to the point of drawing blood. He seems to see my hand as evil and won't let me near him. I've had him for a month now and hes ok with my shoulder once I get him up there but thats about it. Even changing his food/water is a 'fun' time. I can't even walk by his cage without him throwing a fit.

Garet

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Garet
It sounds less like aggression and more like a mixture of hormones/fear/him attempting to protect his only safe place (the cage). Even the bird who's bonded to me won't let me put my hand in her cage without attacking me. I need to get her out of the room in order to safely change her food and water without stressing her out.

Pet store birds often have horrible experiences with people (being grabbed and manhandled, having people poke the glass to get a reaction, ect). You gotta work slow with your hands. Put them near his cage while talking softly- not in a threatening way, mind you. Just have them there and work on gradually bringing them closer over time. Listen to him when he hisses- that's him giving you a warning before he flat-out bites you. They will often give you a warning before attacking like that.