• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Two Conures or Just One?

JamesK

Moving in
Hello All-
First post here but I’ve been searching everywhere for an answer and found this awesome forum.

I am about to buy a Green Cheek Conure. I have owned birds previously but that was 20 years ago. I travel for a living. I usually stay overnight away from home three to four times per month. Otherwise I’m home every night. On the nights/days I’m not there my son will come over and spend time with the bird(s).

That is the question though. There are two Conures available from the same clutch. Do I just get the one or does he need the other for companionship? I don’t want the guy to get lonely but on the other hand I’d like him to bond with us and not with another bird and become mean spirited.

I want to do right by the birds(s) but I’m conflicted. I’ll be picking up him/them Wednesday night. Thanks in advance for all your help and advice.

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin
I would get two, I like having two of Each species because they communicate together, enrich their lives, and keel Each other company. Besides, it is fun! Especially as you travel a lot, I would say two birds, if you can afford the double toy costs, vet Costs etc, but I think you already know that.
If you spend enough time with them, they Will still bond to you:)

Dachshund King

Meeting neighbors
Avenue Veteran