• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Training Conure "Jaw Control"

Ender Pixel

Moving in
I want to start off with the fact that I am new to birds and that both of my conures are about a year and a half old, so I will take all the advice I can get :D

We bought my turquoise green cheek conure Kazooie from Petco when she (? just a guess) was just a couple of months old. She was very afraid of hands and they used a net to get her into the carrier :unsure1: she had 0 training whatsoever.

It took a few weeks for her to acclimate with lots of talking to her and going near her cage, but never forcing touch. We would slowly work with her until she got comfortable and trained "step up" and "step down". She tries to say "Hi there!" "Hi Kazoo!" and even "water" as she LOVES baths.
Screenshot_20180708-223949.jpg

She loves to lay down on her back in your hand and if she's especially relaxed, she will let go of your finger and fall asleep! She will fluff up when you scritch the back of her head and in general likes to be handled and cuddled.

The one problem is that she bites VERY hard, enough to break skin and bruise. Usually it's without warning (I think). I don't think she realizes just how hard she is biting as she's not being particularly aggressive.