• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Sneezing lovebird, should I be worried?

Momo & Mido

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Irene
Hi,

I have Momo now for six months. After a few weeks she got sick (crop infection). Went to the vet and gave her anti-biotics.
But since I have her she sneezes maybe 2 times a day. I'm not experienced with birds, but I know I should be very careful. On the other hand I don't like taking her to the vet when it is not needed (to keep her form stressing out).

Does anyone have advice for me?

Sarahmoluccan

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Sarah
I'm extremely cautious when it comes to sneezing as I've had a bad experience where one of my birds was really sick and the only symptom I saw was sneezing. If it at all wet make an appointment with your vet. If you're unsure if it wet, I'd make appointment just in case. If you're sure it dry I'd at least phone or email your vet.

An odd sneeze here or there is ok but sneezing every day is a sign of problem. The only time I'm not too worried about sneezing is after my birds has a nasal flush than its normal to sneeze for a couple days after. Since Momo just had a crop infection I'd be a little extra worried. I'd definitely talk to your vet. It could be something simple like perhaps you're administrating the meds wrong or something. But because of my experience I don't mess around when it comes to sneezing. Just my 2 cents

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Sneezing for a bird is not normal, especially after treatment with antibiotics. What was the antibiotic and what was the vet treating?
I would at least call this vet and let him or her know you think there is still a problem.

sunnysmom