• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Single Budgie Question

Brinagirl

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Sabrina
Hello,

I am new to Avian Avenue, I don't actually have a bird and it'll be a while before I get one but I have some questions. I'm tempted to get a budgie but I really want to bonded to the bird however I don't want it to be lonely either. Is this possible or should I consider another bird? Can you be bonded with two budgies?

Thank you for reading!

PoukieBear

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Michelle
Welcome to the forums!

As a breeder, I usually always sell my babies as single birds. Why? Because like you, all new owners want a hand tame bird that they can bond with. It's much easier to bond with a single bird, rather than two. When you have just one bird, YOU become it's flock.

Two birds will tend to bond to each other, but that doesn't mean they also can't bond to you as well. You'll just have to dedicate more time and patience to the process. :)

Brinagirl

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Sabrina
Good to know! I'm a bit worried that a single bird would be lonely because I've read that they like to be together. Should I only get one with the intention of getting two?

yellowfeathers

Meeting neighbors
I am relatively new to birds too. I currently only have one bird but whenever I go away for the day, I leave the radio on for him on a relatively low volume. I then usually spend a fair chunk of the day in the room he is in so he generally gets 3+ hours with me per day. I also leave his cage open for a large chunk of this time so he is free to get some exercise and roam if he wishes.