• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Sick Parakeet

AlaskaZ

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi all! This is my first time using this forum, so please let me know if I am doing this wrong!! I am the father of a roughly 7 year old parakeet.

A couple weeks ago, I got back from a month long trip and my parakeet was having some symptoms that worried me. We only have one avian vet in my town, but I managed to get him in for an appointment. Him throwing up a rather large amount of white liquid was my main concern. He is not hand trained, so the vet only did a visual exam as to not cause him any stress. She said a crop infection could be possible, but told me she thought stress from my leaving and returning was most likely the issue. She told me that he seemed very anxious at the vet, and that bringing him there alone could kill him. I was told to keep an eye on his symptoms, and consider returning if anything progressed.