• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Safe to move on to sharing a cage?

Jimmy

Sitting on the front steps
Avenue Veteran
So my old and new cockatiels don't quite get along. They can generally coexist alright, I've seen them happily napping while sitting about 15 cm away from each other. But if either of them gets too close the other will squawk and nip at them. There hasn't been any injury so I think it's just threatening/warning to back off? I have also seen tail pulling, toe biting and toy stealing. But again no injury.

Would it be safe to move them to living in the same cage? Or is there a danger that doing so could escalate the behaviour and lead to one of them actually hurting the other? This is my first time owning birds so I'm not sure what is normal and okay, and what is a sign that they should keep different "home bases". At the moment they have separate cages (but in the same room) where they sleep at night and have their own set of food and water dishes, but they spend most of the day out in the room. They both like to hang out on the roof of the larger cage which is where they encounter each other. So would it be safe to sleep in the same space at night and share the food and water?

If it makes a difference, the cage they would share is pretty decently sized, 102 x 54 x 177 cm.

Thank you for any advice!! :heart:

barry collins

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Barry