• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

rescued a baby pigeon, slow crop, need help!

allthebudge

Meeting neighbors
Avenue Veteran
Hi all,

I rescued a baby pigeon from my workplace. I work in a factory and it was in danger of being run over and killed, couldn't find the nest or parents anywhere to put it back. And so I had to rescue it so it would live.

I don't know anything about pigeons but I did some reading before I tried to help it. The baby is about 20 days old and cannot fly because not all the feathers have come in.
I was feeding it dry peas from a bird mix for my parakeets, but the crop was already full of peanut halves from when the parents last fed it. I've done two feedings so far of about 10 peas each time, but the crop hasn't emptied. There are still peanuts in there.

The baby looks healthy, no injuries, clear eyes, good poops, doesn't smell sick. What should I do about the crop issue? From what I read, crops are supposed to empty in 12-24 hours? I stopped feeding it for the meantime since I read the crop needs to be empty before I put more food in. It seems pretty full. I was able to get it to drink water on its own.

The crop is visibly full, but not distended to the point where it makes a fold, hopefully this is still ok?
Kinda worried that I may have harmed him more by trying to make sure he wasn't starving.