• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Re-taming African Gray

AviMom

Sprinting down the street
Hello everyone.
I'm new to Avian Avenue, and birds as well. My roommate has an African gray he has had for several years. After his wife passed away, he barely took care of his birds. Since I moved in, and have an over active interest in the birds, he has become more and more involved with the birds again. His African gray talks up a storm. She dances and takes treats from our hands, but any time we try to get her to step up, she reaches over and bites our arm, hand, etc.
I feel she became almost cage bound over the time my roommate was grieving. She has started coming out of the cage, and will sit for hours on her cage door, but won't go to the top of the cage.
Being new to birds, especially a large bird like this, Im afraid of the bites. How do I know when she' ready to step up? I watch her body language, she's gotten scared and flown before. I used her food bowl to help her back in the cage, and she stepped on to my hand (scared me to death).....but she did fine.
I guess I just need advice to know how to approach her training. She's afraid of gloves and perches and won't step up on them.

Nikomania

Rollerblading along the road
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
First off, greys are extremely sensitive birds, and will undoubtedly pick up on your anxiety while interacting with him, making him more likely to bite.
Greys need a TON of tenderly loving patience. I would first off begin by offering him little treats and softly talking to him while he's perched on his door. Watch his pupils. Large size ones means he's relaxed. Constricted ones means he's on high alert or stressed.