• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Please help!

BabyB

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello everyone,
I recently adopted a peach faced love bird, he/she was about a week (that’s what I was told). A breeder in my city had 3 babies but expressed that mom and dad were not taking care of the one they were getting rid of and they were going out of state and can no longer take care of it. This was on a Craigslist ad. I have a peach faced lovebird already but she was much older when I got her so this is my first time hand raising a baby. It is now almost 3 weeks (I think as breeder had said it was a week old when I picked it up). I have been feeding it, keeping it warm, and it has been doing great! It’s gotten big and it looks like it’s feathers are coming in. I did notice when I got it that the joint on its right leg did not bend. It was and still is straight. I thought maybe it would out grow that but now I’m noticing it can’t move it’s toes either. :( I have googled a couple of things and I’m sure it’s not splayed legs but can’t find anything on the bend part of it’s leg. When it tries to stand up it just slips :( Is there anything I can do to help it? Or would it be ok to just leave it? Do I need to take it to a vet? I’m so sad to see it not be able to stand when it wants to :( I attached pictures of both sides so you can see the difference in it’s joints

Attachments

Pixiebeak

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Laura
This is more than I can take in and advise you about. I would seek an avian veterinarian consult.

Hopefully other more experienced with ones this young will be able to add more .

BabyB

This is more than I can take in and advise you about. I would seek an avian veterinarian consult.