• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pionus, ringneck or cockatoo?

ParrotsLover7

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Parrot
Hello i am new here, i am a beginner parrot owner and i dont believe in starter birds.

I was just wondering which bird is better suited with a beginner bird owner. A pionus, a lesser sulphur crested cockatoo(i dont mind the noise) and an indian ringneck

Thanks

Begone

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
If you not post any background about yourself that would be impossible to answer.
How old are you? Are you working? How do you live? Do you had animals before? If yes, what kind of animals?
Why do you want a bird? And what do you expect from a bird? How much time are you willing to give your bird?
What do you do on holidays, travel a lot?

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Have you ever interacted with any of these types of birds? Meeting some in person the best way to see what you like and dislike about different kinds.

karen256

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Cockatoos (except for cockatiels) are really not beginner birds at all. They are very high energy, destructive, loud, very intelligent and socially demanding, and on top of that, produce feather dust that can be harmful to some people as well as other species of birds. They can be good birds for the right people, but not for beginners at all. Also, they are quite long lived, so getting one is truly just like having a toddler for the next 50+ years.