• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Parrotlet keeps flying away! Help!

madi.g24

Checking out the neighborhood
hi there! I just recently bought a parrotlet and seem to be having trouble interacting with him. He is still quite new so I have been simply sitting with him and talking to him and instead of trying to grab him in the cage I have been leaving the door open and sitting by while I let him decide he wants to come out. The problem is, he will avoid all attempts to step up and instead takes any opportunity to fly away from me. I’m worried with this kind of behaviour he will get hurt or stuck in a place I cannot retrieve him from. He is hand tame and comfortable with hands when I do go and retrieve him but the second he is on my finger he will just fly away again. This is my first time owning a parrotlet (I have always had budgies) and would love any suggestions!
Thanks in advance!

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin
Do you have trouble getting him back in his cage? I would go about it this way: