• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Parakeet breeding

Rev.Fern Allen

Checking out the neighborhood
I have two pairs of parakeets that have successfully hatched 13 babies total. The oldest babies are 3 weeks old. The males are mating with the females already and the females Ceres are turning blue next to the break. Since I am new at parakeets (I raised doves) Will the females lay eggs with babies still in nest and what does t he blue crew mean. The babies are tame and none mind being held as we clean the nest and their feet and bills. Is it time to supplement feeding.

rocky'smom

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
laurie
I suggest that you move all those babies into separate cages males in one, females into another. 3 weeks old female are not old enough to be having chicks or laying eggs. JMHO

Tiels36

Sitting on the front steps