• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Overfed Cockatiel Chick Crop??

What do I do??

• Feed

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Wait until morning

Votes: 2 10.0%
  • Vet

Votes: 18 90.0%

• Total voters

NotVictor

Sitting on the front steps
Real Name
Victor Gutierrez
I'm new to hand raising and feeding cockatiel chicks and it's crop is full but it's feeding time. What do I do? 20190406_002245.jpg

Attachments

Mockinbirdiva

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Andrea
Victor,
The crop on this chick is extremely distended. More full than it should be. Skip the feeding and wait to see if the crop goes down to empty. The last time you fed this chick did you feed it to the size of the crop as it is now? It's very important for the crop to empty before each feeding so you aren't putting new freshly made formula in a chick that already has formula in the crop. It can result in crop stasis... slowing down the digestion and leading to a sour crop or infection.

Mockinbirdiva

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Andrea
I would also say... if the crop hasn't gone down by morning I would suggest taking this chick to the vet. Have you been shown how to hand feed? Do you know all about the correct temperature formula should be... do you have a digital thermometer to make sure you are feeding at the proper temperature? Are you syringe feeding? Tell us more about your set up for keeping babies warm, type of formula, how you are mixing it.. how often are you feeding.

NotVictor

Real Name
Victor Gutierrez