• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Oh hai!

CMiller89

Moving in
Hello!

I'm a long time lurker finally deciding to crawl out from under my rock and make myself known!
My family will soon have a feathered friend and I absolutely love the wealth of information here and felt it was time for me to actually register!

I have been researching pet birds for 2+ years now and my family has decided on a GCC as our first bird. We are pet professionals and own a grooming salon in Jacksonville, FL. We are lucky in that our whole family(including my 4yo daughter, but only until VPK starts this fall) goes to the shop every day we are open. Our plan is to have a second cage and play stand(up high) for the bird to be with us at work. We also have a 2 year old Standard Schnauzer. I have been taking her to the very few pet stores that carry birds in my area so she can get used to them. One had an African Grey out on a stand, so my dog was able to really see a parrot. Man, that Grey REALLY wanted to preen my girl's beard lol! Since my daughter is growing up around animals, she is already very gentle and respectful. We attended a bird expo so I could show my daughter all the different birds and she could understand how loud they can be. A breeder allowed her to pet the back of a young cockatiel he had and he was very impressed by how gentle she was for how young she is.

We have been looking around at breeders in the area and hoping to put a deposit down very soon!

Anyway, thank you and look forward to learning even more!

Cynthia & Percy

cockatoo mania
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avian Angel
Real Name
cynthia
welcome

Tiel Feathers

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Deanna
:hello::welave:

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran