• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Amit

Meeting neighbors
Hi I'm a newbie here. We are a family of 4 humans looking for a new avian addition . I'm after some advise from the members with wealth of experience here.

We are looking to get a Blue and Gold Macaw so trying to understand whether to get a baby or rehome one around 4/5 years of age!

Any help will be appareciated !!!

Best regards

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
I will always recommend a rehome, but I would get one a little older. Then you can dodge the onset of hormones, which has no socially redeeming features.

If you do get a baby, make sure it is a fully weaned baby. Early babyhood with macaws is very difficult and even more dangerous for the bird.

I just saw a B&G for adoption on the forum, but I can't remember where on the forum.

Good luck on your search.

Amit

Meeting neighbors
I will always recommend a rehome, but I would get one a little older. Then you can dodge the onset of hormones, which has no socially redeeming features.

If you do get a baby, make sure it is a fully weaned baby. Early babyhood with macaws is very difficult and even more dangerous for the bird.

I just saw a B&G for adoption on the forum, but I can't remember where on the forum.

Good luck on your search.
Thanks a lot Hankmacaw for your kind reply. The reason I ask is that we have a local couple looking to rehome their 5 year old. They had him for 3 years and now shift change in jobs is the reason I'm told. Do you think 5 years old is too young or too old for rehoming considering he had been rehome once already. The bird looked very sociable and playful with her husband in the 2 videos she sent me.

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran