1. Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Newbie with some questions

Discussion in 'Macaw Motorway' started by FD3S, 6/18/17.

1. FD3S

FD3S Checking out the neighborhood

Hello, I am new to the macaw and the bird world in general. I come a background w/ reptiles with a focus in Panther chameleons but after some thought, I wanted to get into the world of macaws.

From my research i've found w the large macaws there are the 7 species and have been trying to read up on the differences and similarities between them. Though I did have some questions about them. Ill break it down by species.

Blue & Gold: These seem to be the most common of the large macaws, is there a reason behind it? Was it their coloration that brought them to popularity? Availability or maybe their personalities by comparison?

Green wing: These also seem to be up their in terms of popularity my same questions for the B/G would apply to these as well.

Scarlet: From my research it seems like these can be more aggressive then some of their cousins. I would imagine it is on a bird to bird case but often times I see the words like beaky and nippy used to describe them. Because of this would it be wise to steer clear of them as a potential first?

Hyacinth: My biggest question is why their price point is so high? I understand theyre the largest, is that the reason behind it? In the panther chameleon world the more expensive "locales" (there are no sub-species) was strictly due to there just not being as many breeders, is that the case here?

Blue throat and Buffon's/Great Green: These guys seem to be the most rare but often their price doesnt reflect that. Why are these guys not so often found especially the great greens I couldnt find much info on them specifically or any breeders that had postings for them.