1. Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Newbie here, please help with mutations

Discussion in 'Budgie Boulevard' started by Pania, 2/9/19.

1. Pania

Pania Moving in

C57E2F11-CABB-41D7-BD66-161B43983A19.jpeg 4CA5B37E-32FD-4F76-A0F5-C6C9822F6061.jpeg D5F08B83-E267-49C1-96DF-4064D4189DB7.jpeg 6DD1051D-33E3-4995-A989-F324BAD56AE0.jpeg BAD6BA90-A457-4E8B-B03A-866697AF22E4.jpeg 5229108F-24E1-41A5-A2E9-47304D0D6068.jpeg 7C288C8E-F6A4-4EC3-A658-3742F9A15066.jpeg Hi all,

I’m new to the Budgie world, but already addicted! I currently have 7 budgies, 6 babies and one adult hen. I’ve spent about 2 solid weeks researching genetics and mutations but I seem to be getting more and more confused...
    Could someone much more knowledgeable than me please have a go at identifying these guys?
    I think it will be easier to learn to spot the different colours and mutations once I’ve got my own 7 down pat.
    I’m embarrassed to have a go at guessing here because I think I’ve failed miserably but here goes..

-Adult hen- Cobalt (maybe SF violet? She has violet colouring around her neck and shoulders)
    -Cobalt DF violet
    -Sky blue opaline with maybe SF violet (also has violet around shoulder area and a general violet-y sheen when in good lighting)
    -Mauve spangle (??)
    - Olive green SF violet Clearflight (she has very bright/ deep violet cheek patches and dark blue tail feathers just coming through)
    -Green spangle (this one also has blue or violet tones around feet and vent)
    - Yellowface cinnamon ....and that’s as far as I get with this little guy. Tail feathers still coming through but look to be yellow and black.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

Jazzy*, Ripshod and Just-passn-thru like this.
  2. Zara

Zara Jogging around the block I Can't Stop Posting!

Zara
    Wow your birds are stunning!!!