• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New young lovebirds

AviMom

Sprinting down the street
My roommate got 2 young lovebirds about a month ago. I help out with his birds, and love all species of birds. I have no experience with lovebirds, but know these are peach faced love birds. They are young, brothers i think, not sure of their sex.
My roommate hasn't even named them....not sure why he wanted them. I have been taking time to let them settle in. Ive talked to them, i clean their cage, ive given them toys for their cage. I have placed my hand on the sides of the cage while talking to them, and now inside the cage, moving my hand to different spots, leaving it for a bit, then moving it to a different spot.
They no longer freak out, one seems more comfortable with this than the other.
The one who is more comfortable came to the front of the cage today as i talked to them. It was right infront of my face looking back at me. Hes done this several times before. I placed a finger thru the bars, and he placed his beak on my finger, as if thinking it was food. He did this twice, and then i touched his foot that was on the bar of the cage. He didnt fly away, so i kept talking to him, and touched his foot again.
My question is what is the next step? Offering him food from my hand thru the bars a few times? Then offering food (treats) with my hand inside the cage, and so on?
I get the feeling this one wants to be friends, i just dont want to ruin the trust already built.
I know lovebirds are small, but smart.

DoubleTake

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Brian