• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New The Forum AND Parrots!

Halle

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Halle
Hi, my name is Halle and I'm hoping to get a parrot of my own soon! I've never had a parrot before, but I am familiar to the concept of having a pet. I have had dogs, cats, rats, hermit crabs and at one point a canary. But I have absolutely no experience with parrots. I've been researching for almost 6 months and then I came across this forum a few days ago and finally signed up today! I've always been drawn to birds for some reason so I figured it has to be a sign:laugh:

I figured I would ask for species recommendations. Here is what I'm looking for in a bird: I want a bird that is likely to be active and playful as well as cuddly. As for noise level I'd prefer less noise or at least minimal screaming. I don't really care much about coloring or speaking ability. I want a parrot that will be able to learn tricks though.

So, what do you guys think?

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
Whenever these kind of posts come up the first questions that come to mind don't have anything to do with what kind of bird is good for you. They have to do with you and where you are in life.

Are you in charge of your own life? Do you have a home and provide for yourself? How much stability and consistency can you provide a parrot going forward for the next few decades minimum?

If you are a minor being supported and living in your parents home under your parents rules, you are not a good candidate for a parrot. Simply because a minor doesn't have the power or resources to be in total control of the birds life. They don't even have control over their own. That's only the first reason. There's many more.