• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures New, proud and fledgling mom of 2 Kakarikis!

MsRobs

Checking out the neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Hi there!

My bf and I are the proud owners of Monday and Tuesday, our 2 yellow Red-crowned Parakeets (also known as Kakarikis). This is my first time as a pet owner. My bf and his family had tons of budgies and cockatiels as he was growing up, so he's got much more experience. We've had them for 8 months now, and I love them. We got them from a pet shop, and my bf found out just as they were getting the birds ready to go home, that the employees were absolute idiots. Long story short, because of serious mishandling, our birds are totally terrified of hands and people...after so many months they're just getting used to us, and starting 'on the path' to trust us.

Anyway, any kak owners around here? :-D IMG_5041.JPG

We love our plump yellow Chocobos and hope that one day they'll know this <3

ode.to.parrots

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Cary
:welcome2:

It is so nice of you to join us on the forum! Your birds are absolute beauties! :p

I'm sorry to hear that it has taken so long for them to start trusting you. It sounds like you are heading in the right direction. If you needs more suggestions or advice, there are some great resources in the stickies at the Training Court. :D

Again, welcome!!!

MsRobs

Checking out the neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Thanks!!!! :-D @ode.to.parrots !!!!! When Monday & Tuesday are having their mid-afternoon bath, they look soooo freakin' cute my heart just melts.