• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New Parrotlet.

Miss Mary

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Mary
Hi. My name is Miss Mary and I am new to Avian Avenue so I Hope I am putting my message in the right place. I have a question. I recently purchased a very healthy eight week old Blue Pacific Male Parrotlets. When I purchased him his diet consisted mainly of pellets and some seeds. I have since introduced him to fresh fruits and vegetables witch he has taken well to and appears to be thieving. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on Parrotlets since I’ve purchased this little guy as I knew nothing about these little parrots. I had originally wanted a Lovebird of which I could write a book about. Since My question is this

MauiWendy

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Wendy
Oh Miss Mary first off, Welcome. You are you in for a treat, with that P’let. Sounds like your lil boy is doing great, you are ahead of the game. Keep offering those veggies and fruits. The fact he is eating pellets is awesome. Pellets are great and a little seed. They also love chia seeds too. Millet is like candy and they will do a lot for it, so you can train him using millet (suggestion) My lil girl, Kiwi would turn around on cue for millet. Spend lots of time with him outside his cage, talk to him, he may talk back. Have you experienced you first P’let hissy fit yet. Most P’lets don’t like paper or crinkle sounds, no joke. They will shake their head and tell you all about it. If you can keep him flighted p, he will be happier, and will come and find you. There is a thread on here for parrotlets, you should read up on them. I think you will enjoy this guy as much as you would have a lovebird, maybe even a little more, (no offense to the Lovie people) but I am bias. Check on you later, have fun.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month