1. Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New parrot in college dorm

Discussion in 'Bird Boulevard' started by PA parrot, 2/16/17.

1. PA parrot

PA parrot Moving in

Tim M
    Hey everyone so I'm new to this forum but I have a pretty unique story that I'd like to share with everyone. So I am a college student and at the end of last semester (late December2016) I was searching Craigslist to buy a small 10 gallon aquarium and I found one for 25 dollars that included a pump and all the supplies. When I went to the lady's house to pick it up I noticed some birdcages through her front door and asked if I could come in and see the birds. She had a young parrotlet and a canary wing. The parrotlet was very uncooperative and when I held him I noticed he had many pin feathers. While talking to her I spent about a half hour picking at them and truly alleviated a lot of his discomfort and we bonded instantly. She was moving and only wanted one bird so she gave me him and the cage and all his supplies. At the end of January I had to return to school and decided to bring the bird with me. I currently
    have a parrotlet with me in my college dorm against the knowledge of all the building administrators. I really love him and have been here over a month and am hoping I can make it through this semester without getting caught because my small parrot would get sent home to live with my parents and have a lot less interaction. There have been minor challenges but we are doing well. I'd love to answer any questions you may have!

Gddmsam and Robin8888 like this.
  2. Lady Jane

Lady Jane Biking along the boulevard Avenue Spotlight Award

Dianne
    What is the regulation there? If fish are allowed perhaps birds would be. Things like that seem to be found out somehow. I am happy you love the little bird.

Crazy4parrots likes this.
  3. PA parrot