• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New little linnie. Help

List84

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello, just this past Saturday I addes my first bird to the family. A 10 week old cobalt male named Pym.
He was pirchases from what i would say is a backyard breeder. But seems to be a healthy little guy. He was hand fed. And was apparently hand tamed.
But of course is now super scared. The most interaction hes allowed is letting ne hold a piece of apple for him.
Since Im new to Linnies and birds in general Im really looking to undeestand what to expect. Should i just let him be and slowly hope that he eventually doesnt run away from me anymore. Help!

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Welcome to the forum! All new birds need time to settle in. Try spending time just sitting with him and talking to him and letting him get used to his new surroundings.

@Lady Jane ?

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Welcome to AA and congrats on getting Pym. Your little friend is probably scared. He is in a new environment with new people and objects. Just take it slow with him and be patient. Don't force him to come out of the cage. Continue to offer him treats, sit near him and talk to him. Post some photos when he is more comfortable.

List84

So Im assuming this behaviour is something to be expected.
Ive been talking to him, offering food. And when he seems frazzled i always back off. As I want long term trust.
My whole thinking was to give him some time and then add a second linnie in 6 months or a year. Is that advisable or should i get him a friend sooner rather than later?

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne