• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

New bird owner

Gizmo The GCC

Meeting neighbors
Hi! I feel like I’m not getting anywhere with my bird. I’m a newbie, so it’s a bit frustrating. She tends to go for my hands every time I try to ask her to step up. She’s been out of the cage a couple of times so far, (she’s been with me for nearly 2 weeks now). She does take treats from me through the cage bar though. She would take treats from me with the door open too. It’s just not the step up part.

I recently started to introduce the target stick and the clicker hoping that it’ll make things easier for us in the long run, but I’m still working on that.

Anyway, I want her to step up, so we can have a better bonding relationship, but I don’t know. Should I start with my hands closer? Or abit further away so that she’ll fly to my hands?

Also, there’s this one time she literally flew to me, and she won’t come off! She just hid herself behind back. She would sometimes nip my ears. The worst part is her biting my hands. I don’t like it. I tried using a treat to lure her off of me and into the cage. I’m not sure if I’m doing the right thing though. Like, from shoulder straight back into her cage. It took like 5-8mn, but it kinda works. Any tips please?

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
Your HANDS are the problem. Quit using them. They look and act like predators. Offer your arm/forearm/shoulder/knee/head. Anything but your hand.

You are not showing much if any patience. I don't know a bird on this planet that trusts anyone after only 2 weeks. It will take months (possibly years) for you to slowly achieve what you want. This is a journey. Not a race. Quit racing.

alshgs

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran