• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Need Advice for Respiratory Illness in Conure

Karebear

Moving in
Hello All!

This is my first time on this board, and was hoping to get some advice for my lovely 5-year old Green Cheek Conure, Oscar. About one month ago, I started hearing a very faint whistling only occasionally when Oscar got worked up or was moving around a lot, but was otherwise acting his normal playful self. It was definitely out of the ordinary, so I decided to take him to my local avian vet. Many tests were run, including blood tests and an x-ray (which was difficult, because he had trouble coming out of anesthesia). Some of the noted results were high white blood cell count, slightly low liver function, and the x-rays showed congestion in the lung fields (basically when I looked at it, it was kind of cloudy all over). They hospitalized him for a couple days, which during that time he was given oxygen, twice daily nebulizing treatments, and various antifungal and antibiotic medications. When I was able to bring him home, I was assigned to give the same treatment at home for 30 days.

Three weeks later, I hadn't noticed any real positive change (but did notice slight tail bobbing that the vet had noted on the first visit), so I brought him in a little early for his follow-up check. The vet and I decided against doing another x-ray since he had trouble with that before. She said his lungs actually sounded better, and she retook blood tests. Liver function had returned to normal, white blood cell count was still high, and there was a little change in kidney function, so we reduced some of his meds. So as of right now, I'm continuing the nebulizing and oral antibiotic, and I'll bring him back to the vet in 3-4 weeks.

Other results to note:
Chlamydophila test = negative
Aspergillosis test = negative
Healthy weight