• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My mousebird keeps on biting me

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweethartza

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Shaz
Hi, guys.

I really need advice. I have 2 brown-speckled mousebirds. The male is named Chirpoo and the female is named Chirpee. Chirpoo has always been the "sweetie-pie" and dependent one whereas Chirpee has always been the more independent and fiesty one. I am a university student so the babies stay with me on campus - and they are happy. the problem that has developed for the past 2 months is that Chirpoo has started to bite me HARD. It started with my lip and my chin and now it has progressed to my eyelids whereby he climbs on my afro and strategically finds a way to get to my eyelids and eyebrows. This usually happens when we are at home for the weekend or holidays and even after I have fed him. whenever it gets out of hand I give him "time out" - I put him in the cage for 15 minutes. but that doesn't seem to work because as soon as i let him out and feed him again he starts all over. The most suprising thing is that when we return to university he becomes normal again. The problem is that i'm on a 3 month holiday right now and cannot go university. They have a big room where they play and perch and eat and poop. I thought maybe Chirpoo is still trying to get used to the change of scenery so i try to stay with them a while to ensure them that i am also here. but this has not eliminated the problem. I hope I haven't said too much but please help me. Shaz.

waterfaller1

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
carole