• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Male canary whispers his song?

dayflowr

Checking out the neighborhood
I got a male and female canary back in October of last year. The male chirped a lot but did not sing. Just this month, I noticed him sitting near the female and when I shushed everyone and muted the tv, I could hear he was singing a beautiful song, but so quietly that it's barely audible. Do I have a defective canary? Is it because he has a female in with him? Is there anything I can do to help him sing audibly?

I didn't really get the pair to do a lot of breeding. They were just a good deal as a package with a cage (I raise goats and I know that the better quality animals cost more, but since I'm just starting out I didn't want to invest tons of $ and end up with disaster on my hands). The woman who was selling them at the canary show said he had been singing earlier that day. I'm wondering if she was being truthful...

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Anne & Gang

Riding the Skies
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Anne
a defective canary? I hate that statement. He i singing a beautiful song to his girl..the only one that really counts in this picture. and do not think of separating them..they are bonded and that would be cruel..they do have feelings. It could be that he just doesn't want to sing out loud.

dayflowr

Uh, the point in having a male canary is to hear his song. I paid good money for that. I want to know why he is not singing, if it is something I'm doing wrong. I've read many places that people say not to keep the male and female together, but I am keeping them together for now.

Anne & Gang

Riding the Skies
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Anne
I found this