• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Lump, blood feather and chipping beak

Kiwithebird

Meeting neighbors
BC35C501-D61A-4A37-89E5-578F2FA27EEF.jpeg DC83D41C-12F5-4EC1-94CA-FE11FBE95350.jpeg 3660FDB4-8B97-46B5-83BE-EF4C51521A3F.jpeg The other day I noticed blood under her feathers. I took a closer look to see it was blood and was able to get pictures. Also part of her beak chipped off is that a wear or tear kind of thing or is or more serious? I also noticed a bump on her back after her bath.the past week she has been puffed up a lot too. Any advice? I’m thinking vet but I’m new to having a bird so I want to know if this is normal before taking her.

Last edited:

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
Yes, it's time to get her to the vet. To me the lump is the most worrisome - is it still there. If she fell and broke the feather and damaged her beak, she may be in pain and need some pain meds. But the lump is the most worrisome.

BTW - does she have any cage mates? Do you have a cat or a dog that may have gotten to her?

Kiwithebird

Meeting neighbors
She does not have cage mate. We have a dog but there is no way the dog got to her. And yes the lump is still there

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez
I would certainly be thinking of a vet visit like @Hankmacaw said. Better safe than sorry and lumps on any living being need to be checked.