• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Learning about new birds/questions about cockatiels

Emilyjakubac

Moving in
Hi there, I have limited bird experience and have had 2 female cockatiels. The one I currently have is a rather old lady and I know her years are limited. I'm considering getting another bird when she passes (or before ) and I would like to branch out and get a different kind of bird. I haven't become a bird expert by any means but always carefully followed veterinary advice and have found the cockatiels very easy to care for, but neither of the ones I've had are particularly interested in me. My current bird has always wanted to be sitting with or on me if I have a snack to share, and likes head pets when she deems I am worthy to give them, but I wouldn't describe them as affectionate, which is something I would like in a new bird (and yes they were both hand raised). I have heard that male cockatiels are much more interested in being interactive. Is this true? If so, I would consider a male as an option for a new bird.

Otherwise, what types of birds would you recommend for someone like me? Not a total bird newbie, so I won't inadvertantly neglect them or anything, lol, but I don't think I'm ready to get a Macaw or something of the like.

I would be most interested in something that is more affectionate/playful and is just overall a little more bird. Size and looks do not matter, just temperament. I of course know that all birds are different, but I'd like to be pointed in the right direction.

I have also considered going to a bird rescue and meeting some birds, that way I would be able to know who I am bringing home before hand. If I do this, are there any "expert level" breeds you'd recommend I stay away from?