• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Jardine or Pionus or Caique as the new parrot to adopt?

HyumWakdu

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Lee Jun Woo
Hello! I am a person who raises parrots in Korea. In Korea, not many people have large or rare parrots, so I sign up for information and write the first words. But I am not good at English, so I wrote the original text in Korean, translated it into Google, and modified the text a little. There may be a lot of errors. Please don't be offended by my poor English.

I'm thinking of adopting a new parrot, but I can't decide which species to choose. I'm still searching for Jardine, Pionus and Caique parrot, but I haven't found any difference that will help me decide one of the three.

I know that personality is really important to parrots. We're still collecting a lot of information, but there's too much conflicting information. So I would like to ask a question to anyone who can generalize a species based on experience.

Pionus: I've heard that they're known to be very docile and afraid. According to the information on the Internet, Pionus are lazy and less greedy. They are curious, but often say they tend to be independent and focused on their own business. I've heard that some people don't like to have contact with people around them or talk to them, and that they smell something that they might not like.

jardine: I hear they are steady, calm, talkative, screamless and intelligent. But some breeders have heard that African parrots are more likely to die as babies, and if that's true, it's a bad thing. (I wonder if it's true or if you have the knowledge to do so can significantly reduce your chances of dying.) They're very intelligent, but they're very likely to be one-person birds.