• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Is a bird for me? Pionus Parrot?

RatGirl33

Moving in
SUPER NOOB ALERT: I seriously wasn't sure where to post this so if this is the wrong spot please tell me!

Background: I live with my family, we have a large house, I share a large room with my sister. We have six cats (indoor only) and eleven australorp chickens (the hens live outside). The only "bird experience" I have is from them.

As the name suggests I am a rat mama. I have 4 years of experience from nine different rats. Six are still living and are approaching their first birthday (I'm researching birds now so I am fully prepared). When my little girls eventually do pass, I don't want to do rats again. Their lives are too short, and deaths too heartbreaking. Cleaning and caring after six rats takes up a lot of time, that's why I'd prefer a solo bird. As an artist I spend a lot of time sitting and drawing, I want a bird that will likes to just hang out. Sit on my shoulder, or perch nearby. My rats inhabit a double critter nation with the center level removed, this cage - after extensive cleaning - would become the bird's cage. The pionus parrot seems like a good match from the very little research I did. What do you more knowledgeable people think?

QUICK RECAP:
-something quieter would be best (don't want someone screaming in my ear while I'm doing lineart)
-I don't want to be bitten, a bird gentle
-I don't want finches or small birds like that, I could lose them easily in my room, or accidentally hurt them
-the bird for the most part will be confined to this room, it's about 250-400 sft
-the bird needs to be accepting of all my family (I mean no dive bombing them, stuff like that)
-I don't care about looks or it's intelligence
-Cats would not be allowed in bird room

Last edited:

PufF

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Sam Chan