• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Ideal (and safe) bird to have with Lovebird?

SEMO

Moving in
my peach faced lovie Joey is starting to settle in now. However, he's a highly social little guy and gives me royal hell (by screaming in my ear no less) if I leave him alone even for an hour. So, I've I've been considering adopting another bird into the house so he has another companion to squawk with all day while I'm gone.

I've been told it's best not to get another lovebird as he will remain closely bonded with me as a single lovie. In your opinion, what is another bird that might be good to house with a lovebird? I have no plans to keep them in the same cage for obvious reasons, but just in the same house. I've considered a Quaker parrot given their boisterous and playful personality is on par with a lovebird's, but considering I'm a novice bird owner I'm worried I am not ready for a Quaker. I've also considered a cockatiel, but I'm worried about my lovie terrorizing the docile bird with his outgoing nature (my good friend has a boisterous budgie and a shy antisocial cockatiel and it works fine, however). Any thoughts?

Thank you!

Porter

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Maggie
Don't house any parrots WITH a lovebird.
Its dangerous especially if they don't get along.

Keeping other birds in the house in a seperate cage is likely alright as long as you understand they might not get along.

I have Budgies and Porter... and if I didn't have the Budgies porter would be a hecka a sad guy.

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne