• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I have a plucker :(

nm0710

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Nicole
For those of you who aren't aware, I am a college student. I have classes Monday through Friday. However, someone is ALWAYS home with Zazu and she has some type of interaction through the day.

I left this morning to a normal, fully feathered bird. She remained that way through the day, my mom reported she ate her lunch as usual and was fine. She went outside with my siblings (they're on break) after lunch around 1:00, I returned home around 3:45. I walked in the house to find feathers on the floor which I found odd. I called Zazu over and I came home to a half naked bird. Yes, she plucked her feathers out within 3 hours.

I noticed lots of preening days leading up to this so I thought MAYBE she's going through a crazy molt. I consulted google, Reddit and AA... all pointed to no this isn't a typical molt. Thanks guys! I gave her avian vet a call directly after this. I was speaking to the dumb receptionist who refused to help or squeeze me in this evening because she said they closed in 45 minutes KNOWING they're an animal hospital who take emergencies!!!!! She also said, something sounds wrong! I will be having a talk with the vet at our follow up, ridiculous depending on his response to that, we may be changing vets.