• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

I don't know what to do

Bojo96

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello everyone who's reading this. I just made an account to make this thread becouse I'm desperate at the moment.

Today one of our 2 lovebirds died all of a sudden. Yesterday he seemed just ill but today he just lay down on the bottom of the cage. Before I could even find a vet (in my region there weren't any nearby) he got a seizure and passed away...

Now this is terrible becouse we like them over here. I am by no means an expert, we got these from a woman who couldn't keep them since they're illegal. (They're yellow-collared ones, I don't know why they're not allowed here anymore). My dad also has a Grey parrot.

Now I'm concerned for the remaining one. It's sad that one's gone but seeing him all alone makes me even more sad. I have put his cage next to the parrot so he has some kind of company.

I want to know if it's possible for my lovebird to live alone. I will try to give him as much attention that I can give and I will give him plenty of toys. The cage is also huge, even for 2 lovebirds so there's plenty to do for him. I constantly hope he isn't aware of his partners passing away since we took it out of the cage whilst searching for an expert (he unfortunately died in my sisters hand..) so I hope he thinks the bird left the cage or something, that he doesn't have to mourn. I don't know why I just keep telling myself this.

I haven't found any good answers, some say they will die and others say he should be fine.

Thanks for reading this long post and I hope I can get some answers.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle