• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hurt cockatiel

Jimjam112

Moving in
Hi im new to this but im looking for advice I have a cockatiel named ragnar and ive tamed him well can talk and whistle and chirp hes usually a free bird because hes good but the other evening da kids were playing der 4 and 5 and one fell on him I was devastated I rushed him to da vets unfortunately im in ireland and der are no avian vets just normal ones so he gave him a shot and said his eye would get better gave him drops hes eating preening and not flying much or chirping he loves me playing guitar and goes mad singing but nothing he lost alot of feathers on his head im just wondering will he come back to himself im devastated he lets me scratch him but prefers to be put back in da cage

Wasabisaurus

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
He could return to the way he was, but it could take some time. He's probably scared to be out now.
Do you know if he can fly now? I take it the vet did not x-ray to see if bones are broken? Did the vet manipulate the bird's wings to check for injury? I doubt he will return to singing until he feels better.

In future, it's best to let the children have their fun well away from the bird.

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
So sorry about your cockatiel. I hope he will be OK. Don't know if you are close to either of these vets but found these two avian vets in Ireland: Avian Vets in Ireland
Here's another one: Bairbre O'Malley Veterinary Hospital
If you aren't located near any of these you could always give them a call and see what recommendations they might have.
Maybe there is another member here who could recommend a vet to you.

Jimjam112

Moving in