• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How to Teach Step Up

CheckeredTail

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Tsushi
Hi everyone! I'm not new to birds, but I am new to Pionus and (mostly) new to this forum. About a week ago we got a young (14 weeks old) female Maxi Pionus who we've named Toro. She's still getting settled in, but she's eating and drinking comfortably. My previous parrot experience was with parrotlets, who were very high energy and who had already learned how to step up when I got them. Toro is so unlike any other bird I've interacted with! She's so reserved and quiet.

She is clearly not afraid of human hands, we were told she was hand fed, and she'll take food from my palm or from pinched my fingers even if I get them within an inch of her, we're easily able to reach into her cage to clean and switch food and water out without her showing fear or running away from our hands. However whenever we try to press our hand into her lower chest to get her to step up onto our hand, she will just let go off the branch and flutter backwards or turn around and climb away.

I've tried enticing her to move closer or step onto my hand using yummy incentives like millet, sunflower seeds, or apple and holding them farther away so she has to step onto my hand to reach it, but she snubs this and just stands there like a statue. She rarely even reaches for them at all and just stares or paces a bit. She seems to really know she can completely outlast me and just shows no interest. She won't even climb to a lower perch to come get a treat, she just stays up on her highest perch and watches me sitting there holding out the food looking silly.