• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How to reward cockatiel ?

SagaRue

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello I'm new to owning Birds I just got my first cockatiel a month ago from a pet store he was 6 months old and so he 7 months old now when we first got him I couldn't even walk near the cage without him screaming and flying around I've got to the point where I can put my hand into the cage and he just kind of goes to one side and looks at it but he won't walk over to my hand he walks away from my hand I would like to be able to reward him when he does something good like steps towards my hand or takes interest in me like walks over to me but I can't reward him if he will not take a reward from me so I know everyone says to use mullet fresh fruit and vegetables and give it to the bird through the bars of the cage but the bird will not take it treats from me at all even if I put them in a bowl and leave them he won't eat them so he doesn't know their treats and I don't know how to reward him please give me some advice, I'm very patient I've literally held treats at the bar for 30 minutes to an hour I don't know what to do

AmyJas

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Amy
Hi SagaRue. I disagree with fresh fruit and vegetables as beginning treats for training personally unless your bird already loves these foods. However, I find it hard to believe your bird does not recognize millet as a treat. Have you tried leaving any millet spray for him in the cage and seeing how likes it? It's like crack to birds. My two budgies aren't very tame, but if I'm patient and still, they will eat millet spray that I hold near them.

SagaRue

Checking out the neighborhood