• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How to coparent lovebirds

MaggieSmiles

Moving in
I'm very new to this and didn't expect my birds to have babies (my old neighbor couldn't afford them so I took them in) but 3 out of their 6 eggs hatched (very exciting), they're a little less than a week old, and I was just look for information on how to coparent them. I researched handfeeding and coparening and decided ccoparenting is for me.

When do I start coparenting?
How do I start?
How long can I handle the babies?
When should I move the baby birds to a different cage(s)?

I'm sorry for the all the questions, I'm very new to this and there's a lot of conflicting information out there.

Thank you :)

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Last edited:

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
How comfortable with you are the parents? If they are anxious when you are around, co-parenting will likely not work.

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
How comfortable with you are the parents? If they are anxious when you are around, co-parenting will likely not work.
I have to agree. Unless the parents are very comfortable with you being close and handling them it's not going to work.

I researched handfeeding and coparening and decided ccoparenting is for me.