• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

how much formula do I need?

laopi

Moving in
Hi,

I had 4 GCC baby now, I'd like to try hand feeding, my question is how much formula do I need for these 4 baby totally?

Thanks.

peter

laopi

Moving in
BTW:I lived in Toronto, Canada, do I need extra heat for these baby if I'd like to hand feeding?

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
How old are the babies? Where are the parents? Have you ever handfed before?

laopi

Moving in
How old are the babies? Where are the parents? Have you ever handfed before?
The oldest baby one week more, their parents lived with them now, I'd like to try hand feeding because I heard if a GCC not hand fed, it won't be tame, I have no any hands on experience.

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
If they are with the parents, please leave them be. You have no handfeeding experience and I wouldn't recommend pulling them for handfeeding. A lot can go wrong such as aspiration of formula, burning the crop, sour crop, etc. If mom & dad are taking care of the babies leave them alone. The GCCs can still become socialized even if fed by the parents.

karen256

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
If the parents are tame or semi-tame, you can handle the babies while they're in the nest and when they're a little older, you can take them out and cuddle and interact with them and return them to their parents. They may not be quite as tame as handfed babies when they are just weaned, but once they go to their new homes and get more one-on-one attention, they should turn out like any handfed baby.