• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How I trained my parrotlet to stop chewing on cables

Known Space

Meeting neighbors
..and get her to go back to her cage voluntarily.

So.... this might be of value to some of you. Well, it's helped some people I've interacted with in the past, but I'm far from a training pro. I don't know if this is how people usually do it, though, but it's something I've just kinda gotten into doing.

The solution

My parrotlet's with me, well, all the time. In a room with music production gear no less. And she had the habit of trying to chew on it. Because of course she does. Rather than reaffirm it by giving her too much attention, I tried to find a way to distract her. And my solution ended up being as follows:

When I see her chewing on something I don't want her to chew on, I command her to fly to her cage and subsequently make her perform a trick and reward that.

..that's it.

My reasoning being: As I said before, I don't want to pick her up when she's chewing on cables. I feel as if she would then do it to get attention. By making her fly to her cage -- a perch attached to the inside of her cage door, in fact -- I remove her from the place I don't want her to be. And when I make her perform a trick (usually spinning a circle or waving), I distract her from what she was previously doing and reward it by reaffirming wanted behavior. She usually flies back a couple of times, but she gets tired of it very soon and my cables are unharmed after 3 or 4 attempts.