• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hi All! My house is a zoo!

Mavet

Moving in
Hi everyone!

I'm the proud parrot slave of a rescued male blue-fronted amazon parrot, and will be adopting a rescued female blue and gold macaw early in June!

Joey is my amazon; he's 12 years old, and we've been together for just under 2 years. I've been keeping parrots for about 20 years in total now, though I started with cockatiels - such awesome underrated birds!

My house is essentially a zoo, as I have Joey, a gecko, 11 snakes (including a rescued boa constrictor), and nearly 100 arachnids, most of which are tarantulas, though there's also a scorpion and 3 vinegaroons. I guess that's what happens when you work 9 years at a reptile zoo, and then miss all the critters you used to work with upon heading off to grad school. ;)

A bit about me: I'm a zoologist working on my MSc. in evolutionary biology, and am vary active in the science communication arena - I do a lot of outreach presentations using my animals as ambassadors for their species. Mostly, I aim to dispel myths and fears about snakes and spiders, but I also do a lot of cautioning people against impulse pet purchases, often regarding why parrots don't make good pets for most people, as they're a lot more work than is generally assumed (I suspect I'd be preaching to the choir on this forum!).

Anyway, here's to meeting cool parrot people and learning more about our feathered family!

Here's Joey and my Baron's racer Elphaba checking each other out! (Elphaba is secured safely in her terrarium, and as such they pose no danger to each other.)

Mavet

Moving in
Not sure why my photo of Joey and Elphaba isn't visible... It was when I previewed the thread post... Hopefully it's visible here.
15578657_10155584310277738_3554655307657876884_n.jpg