• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with training my lovebird!

Rompope

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Joe
Hey guys! So I'll try to keep this short and sweet: Last december I got a Lovebird, it was a present from my boyfriend which was an issue since he wasn't really informed about the differences between a hand raised lovebird and one raised by its parents.

It seems to me he wasn't used to being handled at all. I've been working with him for about 5 months now! We've made some progress but the thing is he will only remain with me or step up on my finger if I have his pallet with me. What training looks for us is usually as follows:

1.- I open his cage, he knows he's getting food and reaches for the door.
2.- I show him that I have a piece of pellet in my hand and tell him to "step up" 3.- He steps up and I bring him to my desk, where I will let him eat a little while he's perching on my hand but once he finishes the little pellet piece he goes back to the desk.
4.- After that I grab more food and keep it in my left hand, I hide it and then ask him to step up using my right hand. He will usually step up immediately when I put my hand near him, but if I don't feed him within 5 seconds he'll just jump back to the desk.

And that's what we've been doing so far. The thing is I don't know how to make him step up when I'm not holding anything! If I don't have any food he doesn't come near me at all, or he will and then once he realizes I don't have the pellet he'll just get away.

Every tutorial I've watched on youtube has the bird stepping up and down while getting the rewards afterwards (lol), but if I do this he won't step up on me. Is there anything I'm doing wrong? Please help :rainbow1:!

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award