• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Help with newborn cockatiel

SarahA

Moving in
Hello this is my first time breeding cockatiels but ihave had parakeets that had babys and i feed them at3-4 weeks but my young cockatiel is 1year had 6 eggs 3 or 2 ithink were fertile only one made it it hatched july24 how can i safely handfeed the chick iv gotten a couple of drops down about 5 times today every2hrs but these past 2 times food came out of babys nose ONLY REASON IMTRYING TO HAND FEED IS BOTH PARENTS WONT GO OR STAY IN NEST AT ALL IVE TRIED PUTTING BOTH IN THEIR BUT THEY COMEOUT AND WONT EVEN STAY IN THEIR TOO KEEP BABY WARM I HAVE A LITTLE HEAT PACKINTHEIR AND A HEATER IN MYRESTROOM ONLY PLACE TOO KEEP BABY WARM BOTH PARENTS WERE HAND FED I THINK MALE IS 3YRS OR MORE FEMALE IS 1YRS

Attachments

Lodah

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Awe ... poor baby! :sad4:

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
Oh dear, I hope someone with experience will come give you some advice soon. I hope all will be well with the baby.

rocky'smom

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
laurie
Can't sleep, what formula are you feeding? What type of syringe are you using? What temperature is the formula at? How often are you try to feed this baby?
If possible please take pictures of all the, above, it will helps to you to help the little one.

Last edited:

SarahA

Moving in