• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help! Sick rainbow lorikeet :(

Alicia B

Moving in
Hello,

I am very new to bird care and have recently taken over care of two outside rainbow lorikeets. They were very neglected, under fed and did not have regular access to clean water.

They have also over plucked themselves due to stress and any time I’m not there to clean their cages, and send someone else instead (husband, MIL or FIL), they stress and I find feathers on the ground. When I was sick and did not come for a couple days, one was so badly plucked she had a bald patch, bad bruising and sores. Since then I make sure they are cleaned twice a day, and never miss seeing them. Happy news here, is the one that was doing quite poorly, is now healed and starting to grow her feathers back! Win! She is also very happy and chatty now.

Her brother, however, has taken a sharp decline since yesterday. :( His wings are drooping, his eyes are closed, and he is sitting very still and not moving. I got him to just barely vocalise with me one time—he is usually the chatty social one.He was looking at the bottle brush I put in his cage, so I placed it at his feet and he came over and was eating out of it. But eating nothing else (He had one black poo, however after having some bottle brush, had a white normal looking poo). I offer fresh fruits and veg daily, plus powder. Also, when he flew, he was quickly out of breath, and you could see his chest heaving. :,(

There are no avian doctors close by. I have been looking for answers online, with not much luck. Any help is appreciated.