• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help please!

EkkieLuv

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Leslie
My little rescue blue crowned conure has only been with us about a month. I have no female parrot experience so need some advice about egg laying. She laid an egg a few days ago. It was cracked so I tossed it. She has seemed fine since. She laid a 2nd one overnight that I found this morning. Also cracked, tossed it. (Don't want babies so not giving nesting material. She does have a mate!) She is acting strange after this one. Still perching but didn't head for breakfast as usual, seemed tired and maybe not feeling normal. Her mate was also being unusually protective of her! Should I be worried!? Is her behavior normal after laying eggs??

EkkieLuv

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Leslie
Ok, I can breathe again. Hubby just got home and said she seems fine. Is moving around and eating, etc. I was worried sick!!! Female parrots and egg-laying is not for me! I'll stick with boys. LOL So I'm thinking when I uncovered them this morning and noticed this behavior, she had possibly just laid the egg? Can anyone tell me if it's normal for them to be lethargic for a bit after laying? I am in search of a good home for these babies still but in the meanwhile, I don't want to make myself sick every time if it's nothing to worry about. I've been searching online all morning and couldn't find anything definitive. Any links to good female parrot info would be a godsend - I do much better when I'm educated and prepared!! :)

allison

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Allison