• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello!! New to lovebirds

Sophied1508

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Sophie
Hello, I'm new to lovebirds, and haven't yet acquired any, but I'm looking for advise!

I've wanted lovebirds for a long long time - im a farmer and have bred fancy chickens, ducks, quail, geese (and obviously mammals) but never had a bird quite like a loveie.

Myself and my boyfriend have been looking for a little while, but wanting tame birds, have been put off by petshops due to them seeming to know nothing about them :mad:

I've found a breeder online not too far from myself who is ever so helpful and has just had a clutch hatch! I've been in contact with her, and she has just told me she has a 16week old for sale.

Ideally I wanted two initially, i am in most of the time, but aside from farming i also work part time, and i am out 2-3 night a week. I didnt want a single to get lonely :(
The breeder has indicated that it is much harder to tame when two are kept together, and suggested this single one she has.

I always figured if I had two together from the same hatch and spent the same amount of time with both then they could be tamed?

So my questions are as follows.

1. Is it better to have one or two birds, especially if wanting to tame them?

2. What is the best age to buy them at to start taming? I worry that the 16 week old won't have had enough attention :(

Garet

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Garet
I have a bunch of lovies. My tame birds stayed tame and have helped teach their friends that I'm not so scary.

I'd say getting birds of any age is fine, but they're more likely to like eachother when young. My Guzma was over a decade old when I got him, and he recently decided to start coming over to ride on my shoulder. Mims was three and very untame. I only got one of my birds as a baby.

Sophied1508