• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello! Help choosing my first bird?

Erestyl

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Joshua
Hi everyone! Complete and total newbie here. I've never owned a bird before and the most experience I have is from playing with my friend's cockatiel while he was still around. Recently I had to get rid of my cats because they were being destructive, and I thought I'd never have a pet again, but I've been reading about birds and I think I may have changed my mind!

But I need to know more. I had about 75 tabs open earlier, reading about things like diet, training, exercise, socialization, breeding, different species and their personalities, so I know a good bit about the basics. What I don't have is experience. What I do have, however, is access to all of you! :D

What I want to know is first of all, what's it like having a bird? What kind of changes to your life do you need to make to accommodate a feathered friend? And second of all, what kind of bird should I get? I've read that cockatiels make great first birds, but these aren't quadcopters and I can't just get a new one once I get tired of my first one. So I need to make the correct choice the first time, right?

With that in mind I've got my eye on the Sun Conure or maybe the Jenday Conure. Orange is my favorite color and I think they're absolutely beautiful, and I also think I'd really enjoy how social and clingy they are. However, there's a lot to learn and I'm sure I haven't read about anywhere near all my options, so I was hoping someone could give me some suggestions on species to read up on and look around for.

Thanks for the help!

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Just an FYI, birds are destructive too. One needs to make their home safe for a bird to live and fly .